This sublime top floor apartment, located in a high quality building with a lift, has recently been refurbished to an exceptional standard. The property features a well proportioned reception room with views extending to Green Park. There is a remote controlled gas fire surrounded by a bespoke marble mantle, stunning oak chevron design wood flooring, bespoke joinery including burr oak bookcases and mirrors, and an ornamental balcony with attractive planting and lighting.
A bespoke contemporary kitchen has been crafted in seamless Zebrano including Siemens appliances and a Liebherr wine cooler. The property has extensive storage, including oak lined wardrobes and it also benefits from an eight channel mood lighting system.
Mayfair is named after the annual fortnight-long May Fair that took place on the site that is Shepherd Market today (from 1686 until it was banned in that location in 1764). Until 1686, the May Fair was held inHaymarket, and after 1764, it moved to Fair Field in Bow because the well-to-do residents of the area felt the fair lowered the tone of the neighbourhood.
The oldest cottage in Mayfair was believed to date from 1618. It was destroyed in the Blitz in late
1940. A plaque in Stanhope Row, near Shepherd Market, marks its former site.
Mayfair was anciently part of the parish of St Martin in the Fields, and became part of St George Hanover Square in 1724. The new parish stretched to Bond Street in the southern part of Mayfair and almost to Regent Street north of Conduit Street. The northern boundary was Oxford Street and the southern boundary fell short of Piccadilly. The parish continued west of Mayfair into Hyde Park and then south to include Belgravia and other areas.